Poberezny My Hero

Standard

The summer of 2013 I was fortunate enough to travel to Oshkosh, Wisconsin and experience EAA’s AirVenture Oshkosh! Not only was the adventure something great to experience and see, it was one I will remember forever. I attended the camp, “Women Soar You Soar” and enjoyed every minute! I developed many new friendships with girls who also attended the camp and became very close with a lot of mentors who volunteered. During my time at AirVenture our group of girls started to head over to watch the airshow in the designated area at Oshkosh. While we were walking over, Cindy, one of my mentors I was walking with said, “That’s Paul Poberezny let’s hurry and get a picture!” Now at the time, ill be honest I had no idea who Paul Poberezny was… I hate to admit it, but I didn’t… Afterwards Cindy started to say how that was so awesome, and then she started to explain who Paul Poberezny was to me and another girl from camp. Little did I know I had just gotten a picture with the man who created EAA!! Everything positive I was experiencing, and all of the opportunities that had opened up for me during my time at AirVenture were all possible because this man had created it.
Paul Howard Poberezny was an American aviator and aircraft designer. He founded the Experimental Aircraft Association (EAA) in 1953, and spent the greater part of his life promoting homebuilt aircraft. Poberezny served for 30 years in the United States Air Force, including active duty during World War II and the Korean War. He retired with the rank of lieutenant colonel. He attained all seven aviation wings offered by the military: glider pilot, service pilot, rated pilot, liaison pilot, senior pilot, Army aviator and command pilot.
Mr. Poberezny died August 22, 2013 at the age of 91. I was able to snap a picture with him at his last AirVenture and it is one I will cherish forever. After attending AirVenture that year, I came home with a whole new confidence level that I was able to achieve anything and accomplish all of my dreams. For that, I will forever be thankful for Mr. Poberezny for creating something so special our world is able to experience. If I could go back in time, I wish I could shake his hand again and just tell him thank you for everything he has done for me.
My life changed after AirVenture, and for that I have Mr. Poberezny to thank.

Leave a Reply

