Solo Cross-Country Flying

Standard

CumberlandI have had an extremely exciting last few days! I don’t even know where to begin! Last Monday, March 16, 2015 I was able to complete my first solo cross-country for EKU. I had only completed one solo XC before that to Braxton County (k48I) when I used to fly in West Virginia. So, it had been a while since my last solo cross-country and my nerves were a little tense before the flight. I found myself writing out every single detail from memory that I could think of for what I needed to do during the flight. Dalton, my flight instructor, kind of laughed at me because of course I had to put for my very last detail, “Cross-country complete” with a HUGE smiley face. It may have looked dumb, but I knew that was going to be the feeling I would have after completing my flight. Of course, I was smiling from ear to ear after my flight and I knew that was going to be the very last detail so I just had to write it down! J I didn’t quit smiling until after I started to eat some lunch after I arrived back on campus… I chose to fly to the airport I felt most comfortable with which was of course, Wayne Co (KEKQ) since I have been there multiple times this year. I love flying south from the airport (I39) because you are able to see Lake Cumberland from above after you get so far. My overall first solo cross-country was absolutely wonderful and I couldn’t have asked for a better day. In between check points I couldn’t help but to think about my old friend Larry.FullSizeRender-1 I made sure I sent him a prayer thanking him and to let him know that I was thinking about him. I know he is watching over me and my nerves the rest of the flight were absolutely fine…  Happy spring flying my friends!

Leave a Reply

